Leverage


Fixing fences often involves removing existing rails and their nails so a new one can be placed to be broken again:). We have railway ties as posts and they are tough wood to say the least. Often nails will bend when going in. The ones I want out seem extra stubborn. It is a bit frustrating. I am often below the level of the nails. I have been known to hang in the air on the hammer trying to force the fastener to yield. I am not possessed with body build that allows for brute force. Sometimes it is impossible to do the job- until I get smart and use a lever. I can take the same hammer and place a board under the claw- the nail pops out with ease. I still have to do the work but my real strength comes  from the lever.

I have been told that trusting in God is a crutch but I see Him as the lever.

Leave a Reply

